Pillars of the two testimonies

Site Team


Pillars of the two testimonies
1. La ilaha illAllah has two pillars:
a) The First Pillar: Negation -'La ilah' negates all forms of Shirk and its types, and necessitates disbelieving in everything that is worshiped other than Allah.
b) The Second Pillar: Affirmation -'illAllah' affirms that none deserves worship except Allah and requires acting upon it.
The meaning of these two pillars has been mentioned in many verses, like the Saying of Allah, 'Whoever disbelieves in Taghoot and believes in Allah, then he has grasped the most trustworthy handhold that will never break.' [Soorah al-Baqarah (2): 256]
His Saying, 'Whoever disbelieves in Taghoot' is the meaning of the first pillar, i.e., La ilah.
His Saying, 'believes in Allah' is the meaning of the second pillar, i.e., illAllah.
Similarly, the saying of Ibraheem  which Allah relates in the Qur'aan, “Verily, I am innocent of what you worship, except Him, Who did create me...” [Soorah az-Zukhruf (43): 26-27]
“I am innocent...” is the meaning of negation in the first pillar,
“except Him, Who did create me” is the meaning of affirmation in the second pillar.

Related Articles with Pillars of the two testimonies